Not In Denial: How One Tiger Mom Is Confronting Stage 4 Cancer

I have been deeply humbled multiple times since I was diagnosed with cancer, humbled by the love and awesome compassion that have been shown to me, humbled by the strength and grace I have seen from others who have suffered and are suffering from this disease, humbled by the force and might of cancer itself.  All of it has made me feel small, insignificant and powerless, but yet so very, very grateful.  I was never more grateful than to be asked to be featured in a 3-part article featuring my story in an online medical journal (and sister company of Newseek) called Medical Update.  Talk about humility — it is humbling to have such a good writer retell my story.  Her writing puts mine to shame.  I know, I know this isn’t a competition; there’s no need to compare.  I just can’t seem to shake that competitive streak in me.  Here’s the article:  Not In Denial:  How One Tiger Mom is Confronting Stage 4 Cancer.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victor
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 13:42:54

    Thanks for sharing the article! Please let us know when parts 2 and 3 are published. And of course keep us posted on everything else.

    My thoughts continue and prayers to be with you.

    Reply

  2. Chrissy Rice
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 19:00:09

    Julie I am humbled too by your strength and courage. Cancer does change you at the core level of being human. You have touch so many peoples lives with your writing and cancer had not touch both of our lives you may have never written this exceptional blog. Your thoughts always touch my heart and I feel like I have known you and your family for years. I hope at some point your work here becomes a book to inspire more people in the years to come. You are a gift to this world and to people living and dying with cancer. Love and always praying for the miracle of time for you and your family.
    Chrissy Rice (colonclub)

    Reply

  3. Doug Williams
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 19:56:08

    What’s wrong with a little competition? Susan Scutti is good, but she’s not a better writer than you.

    Reply

  4. Cirincione, Norma F.
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 20:22:47

    Julie,

    Thank you for sharing this. It is beautifully written – but not at all better than your blog. So there!

    With affection to you and Josh and the girls, Norma

    Reply

  5. Giannina
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 16:29:03

    Julie – I have just spent the last two days reading over your blog. You have always been a wonderful storyteller, and I love your writing. My thoughts and prayers are with you on this journey.

    Reply

  6. Tyler Kate Burton
    Feb 22, 2015 @ 11:57:04

    Julie, I am glad that your story and writing is beginning to publish in wider circles. As I told you and Josh, we are so grateful that you are sharing your powerful story of love, immigration and cancer. Your willingness to share with us your journey as you document your being for your daughters to study like some study a philosopher or poet to find greater meaning, provides us with a lens to keep perspective. Your words help guide me to reach for both the low and high hanging fruit.

    Keep snuggling with the little one at night. Your girls will have plenty of tiger ahead of them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

