4 Lbs. in 1 Week

That pretty much sums up Round 1 of 12 of Chemo.  Not too long ago I would have been ecstatic with losing 4 lbs in a week, but not so much now.  Loss of appetite brought on by the fear of imminently throwing up the meager contents of my belly was the most troubling side effect of my first round of chemo.  In light of the exceedingly low expectations I had, I was quite happy with the nausea, particularly since I was able to fight it off with only taking the anti-nausea medication three times in three days.  I was operating under the theory that considering the amount of drugs floating around my body, I didn’t need to add Zofran into the mix unless I really needed to.

The doctor wasn’t so thrilled with the weight loss yesterday when I went in to discuss side effects, which is understandable.  It’s not like I have four pounds to lose after each of the next 11 rounds of chemo.  I’d already lost weight prior to surgery and regained only a little bit in the period between surgery and chemo starting.  Plus, I can’t get too excited about the minimal side effects this time around since side effects are cumulative, so I can expect worse nausea and other stuff to come in the months ahead.  So much to look forward to…

The solution — increase in dosage of anti-nausea medication infused prior to infusion of chemo and mandatory Zofran for 3 days afterwards (whether or not I feel nauseous).  So much for my purist desire to minimize the drugs in my body.  I will spend this and subsequent off-chemo weeks eating as much as I can (since fortunately my appetite has mostly returned).  I’m also changing my diet a bit to permit dairy products and fish.  I figure whatever unproven cancer-fighting benefits of avoiding such items at this point are outweighed by my need to gain weight and the nutritional benefits derived therefrom.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shubing
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 06:09:28

    Julie–I am so thrilled to read your blog (such a great idea)! I can almost visualize you fighting cancer with your bravery! Please keep on and always remember how much you are loved!

    Reply

  2. julielyyip
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 15:35:13

    Thank you, Shubing. I wish you were still next door to me, now more than ever. But this blog will have to do. You know me; I always keep on.

    Reply

  3. Shan
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 22:50:54

    Julie – agree with Shubing that this blog is such a great idea! Once this is all over, you will look back on all your feelings and remember how strong you were to have endured it all.

    On nausea, have you thought about traditional chinese medicine/acupuncture? I think acupuncture in particular may be really good for helping you feel better. And no toxins in your body!

    And good for you on eating fish again. I’m sure it’ll be good for you and make you stronger!

    Good luck on NOT losing weight, and I hope you will feel better in your next round of treatment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

